Non League Matters - The Continuation of Tonys english Football Site 

  Main Index MAIN
Search Posts SEARCH
Who's Online WHO'S
Log in LOG


Home: Archive: 2009-10 Results:
Jersey Willis Memorial Trophy results 2009-10 (complete)


John Treleven
Qatar World Cup bid member!

May 16, 2010, 8:23 PM

Posts: 17670
Location: Jersey

Post #1 of 1 (1379 views)
Jersey Willis Memorial Trophy results 2009-10 (complete) Can't Post or Reply Privately

Jersey Willis Memorial Trophy results 2009-10

The competition which is currently held primarily as a pre-Christmas midweek floodlit event (except for the first round) has always been for non first division teams.
It is currently competed for by the first teams of second tier (“Championship”) clubs and the reserve teams of first division (“Premiership”) clubs
in the Jersey Football Combination. However in the past it has also incorporated teams from the now defunct Caesarean, Guiton and Sunday Soccer Leagues.

Initially a Jersey F.A. competition it came under the auspices of the Jersey Football Combination for the 2007-8 season.

The original trophy was presented to the Jersey F.A. in 1929 by the then Lieutenant-Governor of Jersey, his Excellency Major-General Edward Henry Willis C.B. (and later C.M.G.).
The trophy was to be kept by the first club to win it three times which First Tower did in 1947 and so another trophy was presented for the following season.

The new trophy was again to be kept by the first to win it on three occasions but wins of the first trophy would not count towards this.
It fell to British European Airways “Silver Wing” the winners in 1958, 1960 and 1962 to take possession of it.
Unfortunately this trophy no longer survives as it was later a victim of the inferno that engulfed the B.E.A. club rooms at the Weighbridge.

B.E.A. had in the meantime presented a third trophy but with the proviso that it was perpetual so that it could not be won outright.
This was now the E.H.Willis "Memorial" Trophy as the original donor had since died.
The new donors promptly won the new trophy for the first three years of its existence and in five of its first ten to take their overall tally to eight in fifteen seasons.
Their overall total of eight wins, as well as their four consecutive wins, are both still records for the competition.

Preliminary Round played at Les Quennevais
First Round played at the ground of the first named club
Quarter-Finals and Semi-Finals played at Les Quennevais
Final at Springfield

Trinity Reserves Preliminary Round match played at the Airport pitch
Magpies First Round match delayed a fortnight as their opponents had players
included in the squad for the F.A. Systems Cup match played on the original date.

Preliminary Round
Sat 22 08 2009 Trinity Reserves v St. Ouen Reserves 2-7
Wed 09 09 2009 Rozel Rovers Reserves v St. Paul’s Reserves 0-4
Thu 03 09 2009 St. Brelade v Jersey Nomads 2-1

First Round
Sat 19 09 2009 Grouville Reserves v St. Clement 5-3
Sat 03 10 2009 Magpies v Jersey Wanderers 1-3
Sat 19 09 2009 First Tower United Reserves v Portuguese Club Reserves 0-2
Sat 19 09 2009 Jersey Scottish Reserves v St. Brelade 5-2
Sat 19 09 2009 Sporting Academics v St. Peter Reserves 5-2
Sat 19 09 2009 St. Lawrence v Beeches 5-2
Sat 19 09 2009 St. Martin/S.C.F. v St. Ouen Reserves 0-1
Sat 19 09 2009 St. Paul’s Reserves v St. John 0-1

Tue 29 09 2009 Grouville Reserves v Sporting Academics 2-0
Tue 20 10 2009 St. Lawrence v Jersey Wanderers 2-3
Tue 27 10 2009 Jersey Scottish Reserves v St. John 2-1 (Jersey Scottish Reserves included ineligible players)
Tue 17 11 2009 St. Ouen Reserves v Portuguese Club Reserves 3-1

Tue 24 11 2009 St. John v St. Ouen Reserves 1-2
Wed 18 11 2009 Grouville Reserves v Jersey Wanderers 0-2

Tue 19 01 2010 St. Ouen Reserves v Jersey Wanderers 0-6


free hit counters

Search for (options) HOSTED BY SUMMIT SOCCER v.1.2.3